AT THE BUDDHIST TEMPLE ON PAYA LEBAR ROAD IN SINGAPORE

Sydney lives in Singapore from which my son and daughter-in-law recently returned. They were enchanted and vow to go back. If Singapore is anything like Sydney and his blog, everyone would be completely charmed.

The Buddha said, “Fashion your life as a garland of beautiful deeds.”  Sydney has fashioned his blog as a garland of beautiful posts. You will see from this one that he is so genuine and enthusiastic about life that he’s irresistible. This particular post warmed my heart. It is  loving, respectful, tender.

Today, it is an honor to share Sydney’s visit with his parents here. Thank you, Sydney! Jamie Dedes

I SAW MY PARENTS THIS MORNING

by

Sydney Fong (Add Grain on Earth)

temple-01

To day, my family and me spent half a day doing prayer to my ancestors and deceased parents. The littleBuddhist temple located at Paya Lebar road, where tranquil and serenity lived.

temple-02

This is the place for holding the prayer for the deceased and the tablets.

My parents are somewhere at the left near the front.

But strangely, I couldn’t see them!

temple-03-e1358699926868

I walked to the back yard, saw a young papaya tree waved and said hello to me.

temple-06

And walked further, asked Phalaenopsis,” where are my parents?”

She just smiled at me in return.

temple-07

I asked the pearl drop, do you know where are my dearest parents?

temple-05-1

I approached the aging bench.

temple-08-1

I feel a balmy and gentle hand pat on my shoulder, and I looked up.
I saw daylight resting on the leaves. I saw them!

temple-04-1

Dad and Mom said:” son, not to worry about us! We have friends, many friends here!

You should take good care of yourself and live meaningfully each day!”

I kept nodding in sob.

temple-12

Raindrops witnessed and shared with me this moment.
My dearest Dad and Mom, I missed you!

© 2013, photographs/photo portrait/narrative, Sydney Fong, All rights reserved

myself-01SYDNEY FONG (Add Grain on Earth) started blogging in July of 2012 and focuses on photo essays with accompanying music and short narrative interludes. He is the sweet voice of Buddha-like gentleness and a self-described “visionary.” He earns his living as an architectural illustrator. Of his blog he says, “My blog entails categories of my interest, joy, upheaval of life and its destiny. Every post has its own characteristic. It conveys a story of its own, and the life of its owner.” I am pleased to welcome Sydney as a contributing writer to Into the Bardo.

